Long lost blog

ohh bloggity blog, I know I have been neglecting you terribly.  I can’t believe I haven’t posted in over a month.  Sorry to my die hard fans out there (aka Ouisie and Hill) but I will try to be better now that my adventure is quickly coming to an end!

As you can tell by my last post, I have been trying to take advantage of life in Mulhouse since somehow I woke up and it is already MARCH.  So that is my excuse for not keeping up with the blog and I’m sticking to it.

Thankfully, even though it is not exactly spring here, the temperatures have gotten above freezing and it turns out that the sun really does shine on this part of the world.  Who knew?

I haven’t exactly crossed off any of my activities on the list from my last post but I have been trying to take advantage of this nice weather.  2 weekends ago, Brett and I decided to try and bike over to the German border.  Ambitious? Definitely.  Needless to say, we didn’t make it but we still biked 22 miles which is pretty impressive if I do say so myself.  Brett was lucky enough to have a real bike that he borrowed from one of his teachers at school.  I, on the other hand, rented one of the bikes offered by the city.  Now, I don’t want to sound like a big baby but let’s just say that Brett was driving a Porsche and I was driving a Hummer.  Those bikes from the city are weighed down with so much extra metal.  Maybe they are hoping all of that extra weight will deter the hoodlums of Mulhouse from running off with them.

So off we went and Brett assured me that he knew where we were going.  The cool part about Mulhouse is they actually have a lot of bike trails.  Unfortunately, we somehow lost the signs that should have led us along bike trail numero six.  As a result, we took a scenic detour through Reidisheim and Rixheim, 2 villages outside of Mulhouse.  With the help from a nice man outside of a furniture store (if you are out there, we promise to buy something from you one day!) we did end up on the bike trail and enjoyed riding alongside the canal for awhile.  Some of the highlights of the trip included:

a.  delicious picnic by the canal including day old croissants and paprika flavored chips.

b. watching this guy show off his crazy rollerblading moves on his homemade obstacle course.

c. The Peugeot factory.  Nothing says nice afternoon bike ride like some billowing smokestacks.  But it was cool to see in person.

We did almost die like 10 times.  I think my motto of the trip became “are you trying to get me killed??!!” Note: Brett was also equipped with a snazzy blue helmet while I was just banking on luck and gravity to keep me from cracking my head open.  Mom would have been so disappointed in me.  But that didn’t stop him from crashing into the side of a bridge…which consequently made me pee my pants with laughter.  (TMI? sorry).

Anyway, after about 5 hours, peddling onto the on ramp of a highway, and a few round abouts later, we made it back safe and sound.   After a few weeks of rest, I think I am up for another trip but maybe this time I will bring a map.  And a helmet.

 

 

About Mulhouser life

Hater of French bureaucracy, lover of 12 hour work weeks, aspiring Mulhous-er.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long lost blog

  1. Brett says:

    Hey Yulia,
    Love it 😀 I’m still waiting on the photos to go with it though !!
    Yes, we definately shall do another bike ride very soon, but who needs a map. There’s no adventure unless you’re lost, right ?!

Leave a Reply

